2.—Ministries since Confederation and Members of the Sixteenth Ministry.

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appears in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-653. A list of the members of the Twelfth and Thirteenth Ministries appears on pp. 76-77 of the 1927-28 Year Book. Members of the Fourteenth Ministry are listed at p. 69 of the 1930 Year Book and members of the Fitteenth Ministry at p. 67 of the 1934-35 Year Book.

- 1. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Prime Minister. From July 1, 1867, to Nov. 6, 1873.
- 2. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Prime Minister. From Nov. 7, 1873, to Oct. 16, 1878.
- 3. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Prime Minister. From Oct. 17, 1878, to June 6, 1891.
- 4. Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott, Prime Minister. From June 16, 1891, to Dec. 5, 1892.
- 5. Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson, Prime Minister. From Dec. 5, 1892, to Dec. 12, 1894.
- Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Prime Minister. From Dec. 21, 1894, to Apr. 27, 1896.
 Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Prime Minister. From May 1, 1896, to July 8, 1896.
- 8. Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Prime Minister. From July 11, 1896, to Oct. 6, 1911.
- Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Prime Minister. (Conservative Administration.) From Oct. 10, 1911, to Oct. 12, 1917.
- Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Prime Minister. (Unionist Administration.) From Oct. 12, 1917, to July 10, 1920.
- Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Prime Minister. (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party".) From July 10, 1920, to Dec. 29, 1921.
- 12. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From Dec. 29, 1921, to June 28, 1926.
- 13. Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Prime Minister. From June 29, 1926, to Sept. 25, 1926.
- 14. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From Sept. 25, 1926, to Aug. 6, 1930.
- 15. Rt. Hon. Richard Bedford Bennett, Prime Minister. From Aug. 7, 1930, to Oct. 23, 1935.
- 16. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From Oct. 23, 1935.

SIXTEENTH DOMINION MINISTRY.

(According to precedence of the Ministers.)

| Office. | Occupant. | Date of Appointment. |
|--|--|---|
| Prime Minister, President of the Privy Council, Secretary of State for External Affairs. Member of the Administration and Minister without portfolio. Minister of Mines and Resources ² . Minister of Justice, Attorney General of Canada, an Acting Secretary of State. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Trade and Commerce. Minister of Finance. Minister of Pensions and National Health. Postmaster General. | Right Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King, C.M.G. Hon. Raoul Dandurand, K.C Hon. Thomas Alexander Crerar. Right Hon. Ernest Lapointe, K.C Hon. Pierre Joseph Arthur Cardin, K.C Hon. William Daum Euler Hon. James Layton Ralston Hon. Ian Alistair Mackenzie | Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Sept. 6, 1939 Oct. 23, 1935 Sept. 19, 1939 Oct. 23, 1935 |
| Minister of National Revenue | Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley, K.C | Sept.19, 1939 Oct. 23, 1935 |
| Minister of Fisheries. Minister of National Defence. Minister of Transport ³ . Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Labour. | K.C | Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Sept.19, 1939 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 28, 1935 Jan. 23, 1939 |
| Minister without portfolio | Hon, James Angus MacKinnon | Sept.19, 1939 Jan. 23, 1939 |

¹ Where two dates are shown, the first indicates the date of first appointment to the present Cabinet and the second the date of appointment to the portfolio held at present.
² The Departments of Mines, Interior, Immigration and Colonization, and Indian Affairs were organized into the new Department of Mines and Resources on Dec. 1, 1936.
³ The Department of Railways and Canals and the Department of Marine, together with the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence were organized into the new Department of Transport on Nov. 2, 1936.